WIP: Vivienne Cardigan & I-cord border “Pattern”

Standard

For my sister’s birthday, I pointed her to Wool and the Gang’s website. I told her to pick any item and I’d knit it up for her. She picked the Vivienne Cardigan and so I bought the kit. The kit comes with Wool and the Gang’s Shiny Happy Cotton. She chose the colorway Nude Pink.

_0035_SHC_NudePink

 

I am excited to knit my first sweater and my first bigger piece but I’m starting to be sad with my sister’s choice in pattern. It’s all in garter stitch and I’m starting to get bored.

The body panels alone have 330 rows of garter stitch. 330 rows x 52 stitches x 2 body panels = 34,320 plain old knit stitches. Not to mention the body panels are just solid rectangles. No shaping whatsoever. Ugggh.


 

Simple I-cord border for any pattern 

For an I-cord border 3 stitches wide on both right and left side of fabric:

Every Row: K3, Knit in pattern until last 3 stitches, Slip 3 purlwise wyif (with yarn in front)

 


 

Some progress so far:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The pattern just says to slip every first stitch as selvage but I wanted the edges of cardigan to be nicer than that. Therefore my one mod so far is to add an I-cord border around every edge that isn’t going to get sewn up.

Leave a comment