Preview: North – 21 Knitting Patterns from Kim Hargreaves

Standard

North, the new collection of 21 knitting patterns from Kim Hargreaves is surprising in that I like so many of the patterns. It’s rare that there is such a high percentage of patterns in one book that I not only like and not only would wear, but that I would actually want to add to my knitting queue.

The whole collection is simple chic. Not tremendously cable-y compared to other autumn collections. The pieces are young enough to pair with up-to-the-minute trends (a couple different tops are modeled with a super cute midi leopard print skirt). But they are also classic enough to fit in just about any wardrobe.

I want to snatch this up as a birthday present to myself. I’d love to finish my current sweater and pick out a pattern from North before Thanksgiving so I have some projects I can take on the plane with me.

Here are some of my fave picks of the bunch:

The Beauty v-neck sweater is understatedly sexy.

The Beauty v-neck sweater is understatedly sexy.

The Smoke boxy sweater looks so squishy and soft.

The Smoke boxy sweater looks so squishy and soft.

There are still cables in the collection but a daintier silhouette and prim styling give a vintage feel.

There are still cables in the collection like this Bleak cardigan. But a daintier silhouette and prim styling give a vintage feel.

I love the look of the Resolve dress but I don't think I could ever pull off a knit dress.

I love the look of the Resolve dress but I don’t think I could ever pull off a knit dress.

Don't know why they name these patterns such sad names. This one's called Drab but I love the half-polka dot, half-leopard print thing going on.

Don’t know why they name these patterns such sad names. This one’s called Drab but I love the half-polka dot, half-leopard print thing going on.

Preview the entire book here! Let me know your favorite of the bunch or your favorite autumn 2014 pattern from somewhere else.

Leave a comment